1920s American Culture, Politics, and Lifestyle
Studying the 20s in America is so fun and engaging! Here are your topics, per Mr. Cautero's assignment:
1. F. Scott Fitzgerald and Zelda Fitzgerald
2. Fashion of the 20s
3. Music trends of the 20s
4. Dances of the 20s
5. Politics/Legislation of the 20’s include 18th and 19th amendment – causes and effects
6. Gangsters and Bootlegging
7. Revolutionary new gadgets, appliances, inventions, including automobile
8. The Golden Age of Sports: Notable exploits
PRO TIP: When researching on the databases or the broad internet make sure to put search terms in QUOTES to get the most helpful and relevant information!
Databases
Helpful Databases for 1920s research
PRO TIP: When researching on the databases or the broad internet make sure to put search terms in QUOTES to get the most helpful and relevant information!
For database passwords, please see Ms. Moore or email her.
Check out these databases for help with your research and import sources through NoodleTools
Crash Course in US History: The Roaring 20's
A quick video on general 1920s info
GENERAL 1920's WEBSITES
Try these websites for useful information on the 1920s. Use NoodleTools to cite these websites - see Ms. Moore for help.
- Flapper's SlangFrom PBS. Scroll to the bottom of the page for links to even more resources.
- Becoming Modern: America in the 1920sPresents an expansive collection of primary sources, organized in five themes, each with six to eight sections. Includes films, newsreels, animated cartoons, comic strips, radio broadcasts, sound recordings, informational texts, fiction selections, visual art, photographs, music selections, political cartoons and contemporary commentary.
- NewClash of Cultures in the 1910s and 1920sPrimary source materials (cartoons, documents and photographs) from the Ohio State University History Department, topic segments include Prohibition; Immigration Restriction and the KKK; The New Woman and The Scopes Trial.
- MUSIC: JazzCompanion website to Ken Burns' documentary, includes historical background, biographies and audio files.
- FILM: History of Film 1920sFrom Filmsite.org, overview of the film industry during the 1920s, includes information on movie studios, actors and films of the era.
Music of the 1920's
Did the 20s truly ROAR? Listen to this clip to decide...
Las Lomas Library Catalog
Looking for Video Clips?
To find video clips, try typing in your subject matter in a YouTube search with the following words-remember to put the in quotes AND cite in NoodleTools - see Ms. Moore for help:
- American Experience PBS
- History Channel
- History Brief
- Simple History
- It's History
- Feature History
- Epic History
- Biography Channel
Images
For vetted and legit images for this project, see these pages. Make sure to cite your sources for photographs like this:
Artist's Last Name, First Name (if any). “Title of the Picture.” Title of the Site, Date. URL. Accessed Date.
Make sure you have the hanging indent on the second line - the indent does not translate to this webpage! You can put this info into NoodleTools
The Century: American's Time 1920 - 1929
See this little history channel clip for some solid historical background on this decade!