Las Lomas Library Catalog
| Find: | ||||
|
|
|
|
|
| Advanced Search | ||||
Books in LLHS Library
An American Genocide by ISBN: 9780300230697Publication Date: 2017-06-27
Encyclopedia of North American Indians by
A comprehensive reference work on the culture and history of Native Americans.
Call Number: 970.004 ENCISBN: 0761402276Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Dictionary of Native American Mythology by Call Number: 299.7 GILISBN: 0874366216Publication Date: 1992-06-30
The American Indians by Call Number: 970.1 FORISBN: 0791033554Publication Date: 1995-07-01
The Other Slavery by Call Number: 306.3 RESISBN: 9780544947108Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Were Native Americans the Victims of Genocide? by Call Number: 970.004 HAUISBN: 9781682822913Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Killing the White Man's Indian by Call Number: 970.5 BORISBN: 9780385420365Publication Date: 1997-04-14
Video Clips
- Video: Not Your Mascot: Native Americans and Team Mascots "Professor of Ojibwe, and Native American author, trainer and speaker Dr. Anton Treuer gives the history of the word "Redskin" and why humans shouldn't be sports mascots in general." (3.49 minutes)
- Video: On Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women "CNN's Segment on Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, which includes commentary from Senator Lisa Murkowski on her legislation to combat this epidemic." (3.37 minutes)
- Video: Native American Suicide "Governor Steve Bullock said he often feels like the ‘consoler in chief' when he addressed the Zero Suicide Academy conference in Helena this fall because he’s attended so many funerals of people who've chosen to end their own lives." (5 minutes)
- Video: American Indian Parents Hold Schools to Account on Culture, Curriculum "In Minnesota, the parents of American Indian students work to assure a high level of cultural sensitivity and accuracy in what’s being taught." (4.55 minutes)
- Video: Impact of Addiction on Native Americans(2:20 minutes)
- Video: Why Native Americans are Buying Back Land that was Stolen from Them "From 1877 to 1934, under a range of laws and reneged-upon treaties, the U.S. government appropriated tens of millions of acres of Native American land. In recent years there has been a growing movement known as “land back” to reclaim their lands. In some cases that has meant tribes are choosing to buy it back on the open market. In the first of a two-part series, special correspondent Kira Kay reports from Northern California." (7:57 minutes)
Guide for Essay
- A Supplemental Guide to There ThereThis supplemental guide to There, There is designed to help students process a synthesis type essay. Created by Ms. Greer.
Genocide
- GenocideThis web page includes information on the Holocaust and the Native American genocide --along with other genocides around the world.
There There
There There by Tommy Orange tells of twelve characters, each of whom have private reasons for traveling to the Big Oakland Powwow.
Tommy Orange Interview
DATABASES
For database passwords please see Ms. Walfoort or email her.
The best database resources at LLHS for this particular assignment:
Online books covering all subject areas
ProQuest
Contains magazines, newspapers, books, and more to support research in key curricula subjects
Covers World Geography, Modern World History, American History, and Current Issues
General Encyclopedia
In-depth reports on today's issues
Pros & Cons on leading issues
2018 Gathering of Nations Pow Wow
WEBSITES in Connection to There There
Try these websites for useful information in connection to There There.
1. Most famous protest movements including Alcatraz take-over
We Hold the Rock - Alcatraz by National Park Service
AIM (American Indian Movement) Website
2. Alcoholism / Drug abuse and Native-Americans
CDC Reports High Rate of Alcohol Poising Deaths among Natives
3. Powwows – history, purpose, features
What is a Powwow? by Nanticoke Indian Tribe
4. Storytelling in Native culture (Arapaho, Cheyenne) – purpose, function, role today
Arapaho Stories posted by the University of Colorado Boulder
5. Mixed race and Native identity issues
A Conversation with Native Americans on Race published in the New York Times (There is an advertisement at the beginning, but it is very much worth it to get through that to the main story)
6. United States Relocation Acts and their effects
The Treaty That Forced the Cherokee People from Their Homelands Goes on View - Smithsonian
American Indian Urban Relocation by National Archives
Indian Removal Act prepared by Library of Congress
7. Natives and mental illness/suicide: Causes, prevention and educational / outreach programs.
SAMHSA - Suicide Prevention Fact Sheet by U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services
Mental Health Disparities: American Indians and Alaska Natives by the American Psychiatric Association (Scroll down and click on Mental Health Facts for American Indian/Alaska Natives)
General Websites:
Listen to Indigenous People - Podcasts
National Museum of the American Indian -Smithsonian