Ethnic Studies

Five-hour film series told through intimate and personal lives, that cast a new lens on U.S. history and the ongoing role that Asian Americans have played in shaping the nation’s story.

The Asian Art Museum celebrates, preserves, and promotes Asian and Asian American art and cultures for local and global audiences with a collection of 18,000 artworks ranging from ancient jades and ceramics to contemporary video installations.

UC curated digitized collection of photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more focusing on the Asian American experience in California.

Organization dedicated to presenting stories that convey the richness and diversity of Asian American experiences to the broadest audience possible by funding, producing, distributing and exhibiting works in film, television and digital media.

The Chinese Historical and Cultural Project (CHCP) is based in Santa Clara County, California. It was founded in 1987 by the late Lillian Gong-Guy and Gerrye Wong as a non-profit organization to promote and preserve Chinese American and Chinese history and culture through community outreach activities.

The Chinese American Museum (CAM) is the first museum in Southern California dedicated to the Chinese American experience and history in this region.

The Chinese Historical Society of America collects, preserves, and illuminates the history of Chinese in America by serving as a center for research, scholarship and learning to inspire a greater appreciation for, and knowledge of, their collective experience

Located in downtown Stockton, in the historic Newberry building, the National FANHS Museum showcases the contributions that Filipino Americans have made to the United States.

Showcases a unique collection of permanent and rotating exhibits chronicling more than a century of Japanese American history. Focuses on early immigration of Japanese to America, their leadership in the agricultural community, their incarceration during World War II and the challenges they faced, while adapting and contributing to West Coast communities.

Founded to preserve and share the history of Japanese Americans. Its mission evolved to enhance appreciation for America’s ethnic and cultural diversity by documenting the stories of Americans of Japanese ancestry as an integral component of U.S. history.

In 1942, the United States government ordered more than 110,000 men, women, and children to leave their homes and detained them in remote, military-style camps. Manzanar War Relocation Center was one of ten camps where the US government incarcerated Japanese immigrants ineligible for citizenship and Japanese American citizens during World War II.

A national public television series of critically acclaimed documentaries that provides an authentic glimpse into the Pacific Islander experience.

Dedicated to the preservation and exhibition of Vietnamese refugees’ heritage, VHM collects and shares the testimonies and artifacts that tell the stories of the Vietnamese refugees to preserve this heritage for present and future generations to reflect upon.

UC curated digitized collection of photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more focusing on the Hispanic American experience in California.

Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.

An anchor cultural institution in Los Angeles County that centers the Latino experience and provides a space to uplift, share, and preserve the stories of Mexicans, Mexican Americans, and Latinx people in Southern California.

The California Indian Museum and Cultural Center was founded in 1996 with the purpose of educating the public about the history, culture, and contemporary life of California Indians and to honor their contributions to civilization.

UC curated digitized collection of photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more focusing on the Native American experience in California.

The NAHC identifies, catalogs, and protects Native American cultural resources -- ancient places of special religious or social significance to Native Americans and known ancient graves and cemeteries of Native Americans on private and public lands in California.