Genre Project
Students - sign in with google and create a project for this assignment
See THIS TUTORIAL for help with NoodleTools, if you need it - Thanks, Ms. McFerrin!
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Conflicting views on controversial topics-search this database for many versions of the genres you are exploring
ABC-CLIO
Covers World Geography, Modern World History, and American History-search this database for historical documents
Covers a vast array of people in your genre from significant figures to present-day newsmakers, alongside various articles, videos, podcasts, and images
New York Times
NOTE: You need to be using your school email account AND SIGN IN with that address when off campus. If you haven't already, you will need to first set up and activate your account. If needed, step by step directions are here.
Books-Children's, cookbook, graphic novel, how-to book, pop up book
Essay-personal (college), prose, literary criticism
Formal letter - business, complaint, condolence, cover
Newspaper article - news, feature in-depth report, personality, obituary opinion, editorial, review, sports
Poetry - haiku, ballad, epic, free verse, ode, sestina sonnet, two-voice
Public Service Announcement (PSA)
Script- commercial, monologue, one-act, radio play, screenplay, skit, soliloquy
Creating an Annotated Bibliography using NoodleTools
WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?
An Annotated Bibliography is an organized list of sources (like a Works Cited page). Each source is followed by a brief note or “annotation.” Annotations do the following in a short paragraph - one or two sentences per topic:
Summarize/Describe: Write about the content and focus of the book or article; include the author, genre, and title;
Evaluate/Analyze: Write about the source’s methods, conclusions, or reliability; what does the author say about the subject and what do you think about it?
Reflect: Write about the source’s usefulness to your research...how will you (or will you) use this source? What did you learn from it?
YOU WILL DO ONE PARAGRAPH PER SOURCE FOR THIS ASSIGNMENT! THREE TOTAL SOURCES AND PARAGRAPHS
USING NOODLETOOLS FOR ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY
Click into each source in your project and scroll down to the annotation box. Write the paragraph below for EACH SOURCE and save it. When you are finished, export all sources to google docs. See THIS TUTORIAL for help - Thanks, Ms. McFerrin!
When evaluating sources, ask yourself:
WHO is saying-who is the author of the source? Scroll to the bottom of the page for this info
WHAT to me - what is the source about? Is it biased? How?
for what REASON - is this site trying to persuade? How:
for what GAIN-is this site making money off of your clicks? .com and .net sources are not always dependable
through what CHANNEL-is there a site publisher? You can trust .org, .gov, .edu
with what EVIDENCE?- check out the photos and the sources. Who is interviewed? Do they have official titles?
Having trouble finding what you need? Email Ms. Moore!
