SCIENCE DATABASES
Databases are collections of published articles, scholarly papers, research, etc., that are made available online. The information in them has been edited and fact-checked. Databases contain accurate, reliable and timely information - perfect for your research assignments.
The databases below are the most useful for this specific project. For our other databases, visit the library online databases. Remember - You'll need to login first to get to the articles. Need passwords? Email the Acalanes library or Email the Miramonte library.
- GALE: Science This link opens in a new window
Combines authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
SEARCH TERMS
Use these terms -- ALONG WITH THE TERM ELECTROMAGNETIC RADIATION -- to help you narrow your results and be more precise.
biological tissue |
ionizing radiation |
brain cancer |
|---|---|---|
sunburn |
cell phones |
radio waves |
Bluetooth |
router |
skin |
Advanced Search in ProQuest using 2 Terms:
1) Choose the database "ProQuest"
2) Choose Advanced Search from the top
3) Type "Electromagnetic radiation" in the first search box; type your second search term in the second box
4) check the box for "Full text" (so that you get the entire article, not just an abstract (a brief synopsis of the article)
5) Search
Advanced Search in Science in Context Using TWO Search Terms: