Literary Figures - Images from Britannica
Jason Reynolds
Wikimedia Commons
Angie Thomas
Wikimedia Commons
bell hooks
Wikimedia Commons
Amy Tan
Wikimedia Commons
Cathy Park Hong
en.wikipedia.org
Elizabeth Acevedo
Wikimedia Commons
Toni Morrison
Wikimedia Commons
Langston Hughes
nypl.getarchive.net
N. Scott Momaday
pbs.org
Gary Soto
datebook.sfchronicle.com
Isabel Allende
Wikimedia Commons
Databases - Biographical / Literary Criticism / Historical Context
Email or see your librarian for usernames and passwords.
- Gale In Context: BiographyUseful for biographical information on recent and past notable authors.
- Scribner Writers SeriesBio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors.
- Gale eBooksIncludes:
Biographies of Writers around the World
Decades books for Historical Context
Feminism in Literature
Gothic Literature - Literary Reference Center Plus through the County Public LibrarySelect Literary Reference Center Plus by scrolling down to the fourth row.
If you don't have a public library card, you can get an e-Card online (https://ccclib.org/get-a-library-card-info) and start using the database right away. - Explora through the County Public LibrarySelect Explora by scrolling down to the fifth row.
If you don't have a public library card, you can get an e-Card online (https://ccclib.org/get-a-library-card-info) and start using the database right away. - ProQuestTry checking the boxes for Full text AND Peer reviewed before clicking on the search button to get complete scholarly articles.
- BritannicaUseful when getting started for a quick overview.
New York Times
NOTE: You need to be using your school email account AND SIGN IN with that address when off campus. If you haven't already, you will need to first set up and activate your account. If needed, step by step directions are here.
Annotated Bibliography
Using the Library Print Books
Biographical encyclopedias and literary criticism series are located on the upper level in the nonfiction section from 809 to 897. Useful books for literary criticism include:
The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature by Call Number: 810.8 NORISBN: 0393080072Publication Date: 2010-09-13Latino writers from Chicano, Cuban-, Puerto Rican-, and Dominican-American traditions, as well as writing from other Spanish-speaking countries. Under the general editorship of award-winning cultural critic Ilan Stavans, The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature traces four centuries of writing.
Literature and Its Times by Call Number: 809.93 MOSISBN: 0787606065Publication Date: 1997-09-26Literature and Its Times provides the historical background of 300 of the most-studied novels, plays, poems, speeches and short stories. This 5-vol. set is arranged chronologically from ancient times to the present, with the entries in each volume arranged alphabetically by title. Each entry examines both the historical setting of the literary work and the historical events taking place at the time the work was written.
Contemporary literary criticism (Twentieh-Century Literary Criticism) 809 CON
American Writers Series 810.9 AME
Websites
- The Literature NetworkSearchable online literature. Links to over 3500 full books and over 4400 short stories and poems by over 260 authors that are in the public domain.
- Poetry FoundationFeatures an archive of approximately 6,000 poems.
- Project GutenbergOver 60,000 free eBooks.
- Social Justice Resource Center - BiographiesThe mission of the Social Justice Resource Center is to link faith to action by providing information & resources on the social issues of our time.