Skip to Main Content

Author Research-Barrett: Home

Poets and Poetry

Researching Authors and Their Lives-Assignment link

 

Find one author whose writing you have not read yet, but interests you. After you’ve explored and researched them, create your own annotated bibliography of sources you found. You will do this based on three sources, using NoodleTools to help you cite each source.

Databases and Resources for this project

RESEARCH TOOLS

Use these tools for your notetaking and your annotated bibliography

NoodleTools

Students - sign in with google and create a project for this assignment

See THIS TUTORIAL for help with NoodleTools, if you need it - Thanks, Ms. McFerrin!

DATABASES-some are password protected-email nmoore@auhsdschools.org

Gale in Context: Biography

Covers a vast array of people from significant figures to present-day newsmakers, alongside various articles, videos, podcasts, and images

Bloom's Literature - password protected-email Ms. Moore

A comprehensive resource for the study of literature. Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom, this database includes thousands of critical essays; author biographies, interviews, and profiles; character analyses

Gale Literature Resource Center-password protected-email Ms. Moore

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Gale Literature In Context - NEW! FREE TRIAL!! USE THIS!! password: godons

AMAZING new database with current information on new books and authors. Very interactive and easy to use!

Britannica-Use for General Informaition
Complete encyclopedia includes primary sources and biographies

 

Marie Lu on Legend

Goals for the Project

The goal of this assignment is to:

  1. Learn about a writer’s early life and upbringing, their career as an author, and the impact they have had on people and the world

  2. Make a citation for each source in NoodleTools and import into your document

  3. Practice using a formal, research driven tone in a paragraph following MLA format

Annotated Bibliography-Poets

Creating an Annotated Bibliography using NoodleTools

WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?

  • An Annotated Bibliography is an organized list of sources -like a Works Cited page
  • Each source is followed by a brief note or “annotation”
  • Annotations are short paragraphs - five to seven sentences-that are written right below the source citation
  • Your paragraphs are about your author and his/her/their works.                                                                                                                                                                          

    For this assignment, you must include a minimum of THREE SOURCES (at least 1 website and 1 database) with a purposeful annotation for each that must include:

  • SOURCE 1- Early life/ Beginning of career

  • SOURCE 2- Writing Career/ Notable works

  • SOURCE 3- Lasting impact/ Achievements

     

  •  **CHOOSE a writer that opens up the available research for these three sources**

Using NoodleTools for your Annotated Bibliography

USING NOODLETOOLS FOR ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY

Click into each source in your project and scroll down to the annotation box. Write the paragraph below for EACH SOURCE and save it. When you are finished, export all sources to google docs.

See THIS TUTORIAL for help - Thanks, Ms. McFerrin!

LINK to Annotated Bibliography Handout-Lenet

Angie Thomas on Concrete Rose