AP African American Studies: AP African American Studies

ProQuest: Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window

ProQuest: Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window

JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Search for:
-- Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations and Race Relations

-- Defining Documents in American History: Reconstruction Era (1865–1877)

-- Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights (1954–2015)

To answer your project question, you will read sources in all three source categories:

PRIMARY, SECONDARY, AND TERTIARY

Primary sources: original data. Examples: a poem, a song, a speech, a photograph

Secondary sources: Another scholar's interpretation of your question. Examples: literary criticism, journal articles, or scholarly papers.

Tertiary sources: more commonly known as reference sources, tertiary sources provide a general overview of a topic when starting research. Examples: encyclopedias, dictionaries, and even Wikipedia! 

• Black History Month Magazine: Pre-Colonial History

  Articles on the history of pre- colonial African empires, kingdoms and peoples.

• BlackPast

  Online encyclopedia on African American and Global African history.

• Calisphere California Cultures: African Americans

  UC curated digitized collection of photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more focusing on the African American experience in California.

• Carnegie Hall: Timeline of African American Music

  The timeline is a detailed view of the evolution of African American musical genres that span the past 400 years.

• Internet African History Sourcebook

  Collection of public domain and copy-permitted primary source historical texts.

• Library of Congress: Chronicling America

  Searchable digital archive of America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963.

• National Archives: African American Heritage

  Online research portal to explore the vast collection from the National Archives documenting the black experience.

• National Museum of African American History & Culture

  Guide and links to available digital resources.

• The Plainest Demands of Justice: Documents for Dialogue on the African American Experience (Bill of Rights Institute)

  Through primary source analysis, this resource explores the efforts to realize the Founding principles of liberty, equality, and justice by exploring key periods in African American history.

• Slavery and the Founding (Bill of Rights Institute)

  Primary sources and lesson materials exploring how a system of enslavement developed and persisted within the framework of liberty in the United States.

• Slave Voyages

  Collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the largest slave trades in history.

• Smithsonian Learning Lab

  Collection features digital education resources, including objects and artworks, selected from across the Smithsonian's museum collections that complement the Advanced Placement (AP) African American Studies course.

• Forced Prison Labor
• NYPL on Black Romance Novels
• PBS on The Nation of Islam
• Carnegie Hall on Rap and Hip Hop
• National Endowment for the Arts on Spike Lee
• Library of Congress on Black soldiers in the Civil War
• Harlem is Everywhere-a podcast by the Metropolitan Museum of Art
• Brookings Institute on Black Generational Wealth
• NPS on slave song and resistance
• The Smithsonian on Black women at Nasa
• Zinn Education project on assassinated Black Panthers
• The Met on African Art's influence
• Southern Poverty Law Center on teaching Hard Topics
• Pew Research Center on Black views of Racism
• NIH on relationships between Black men and women
• Oxford press on Civil Rights and the media
• NPR on a century of Black resistance through music
• The National WWII Museum on Double V 
• NPS on the 1733 Akwamu Insurrection
• Black Americans in sports

• Africa's Great Civilizations

  Six-hour PBS television series hosted by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. chronicling African history starting with the birth of humankind to the start of the 20th century. (Login in with ProQuest credentials)

• 

  Black History in 2 Minutes (or so)

  Brief and concise historical episodes of the African-American experience. Narrated by renowned historian, Henry Louis Gates Jr. and executive produced by Robert F. Smith.