LibGuides: MHS Library: African American Studies

LIBRARY DATABASES

GALE: US History
ProQuest: Black Freedom Struggle
ProQuest: Diversity Collection
JSTOR
Salem Press ebooks
SEE:
-- Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations and Race Relations

-- Defining Documents in American History: Reconstruction Era (1865–1877)

-- Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights (1954–2015)

WEBSITES

Black History Month Magazine: Pre-Colonial History
Articles on the history of pre- colonial African empires, kingdoms and peoples.
BlackPast
Online encyclopedia on African American and Global African history.
Calisphere California Cultures: African Americans
UC curated digitized collection of photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more focusing on the African American experience in California.
Carnegie Hall: Timeline of African American Music
The timeline is a detailed view of the evolution of African American musical genres that span the past 400 years.
Gilder Lehrman: AP African American Studies Guide
Explore primary sources, essays, and videos, organized by course unit.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Collection of public domain and copy-permitted primary source historical texts.
Library of Congress: Chronicling America
Searchable digital archive of America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963.
National Archives: African American Heritage
Online research portal to explore the vast collection from the National Archives documenting the black experience.
National Museum of African American History & Culture
Guide and links to available digital resources.
The Plainest Demands of Justice: Documents for Dialogue on the African American Experience (Bill of Rights Institute)
Through primary source analysis, this resource explores the efforts to realize the Founding principles of liberty, equality, and justice by exploring key periods in African American history.
Slavery and the Founding (Bill of Rights Institute)
Primary sources and lesson materials exploring how a system of enslavement developed and persisted within the framework of liberty in the United States.
Slave Voyages
Collaborative digital initiative that compiles and makes publicly accessible records of the largest slave trades in history.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
Collection features digital education resources, including objects and artworks, selected from across the Smithsonian's museum collections that complement the Advanced Placement (AP) African American Studies course.

Book in the MHS Library

Click Image Above to View Collection of Books Available in the MHS Library

VIDEOS

Africa's Great Civilizations
Six-hour PBS television series hosted by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. chronicling African history starting with the birth of humankind to the start of the 20th century. (Login in with ProQuest credentials)
Black History in 2 Minutes (or so)
Brief and concise historical episodes of the African-American experience. Narrated by renowned historian, Henry Louis Gates Jr. and executive produced by Robert F. Smith.