Photographs from Ellis Island
Sitting Bull - Library of Congress
Eleanor Roosevelt - commons.wikimedia.org
Marian Anderson - newyorker.com
John Muir - Calisphere
Alice Paul - Library of Congress
Ida B. Wells - NYPL Public Domain
Rachel Carson - todayinsci.com
Cesar Chavez - commons.wikimedia.org
Henry Ossian Flipper - army.mil
Daniel Inouye - History House Gov
Louis Armstrong - Library of Congress
American Currency Project Assignment
NoodleTools
NoodleTools is a research and citation platform that allows students to organize their sources, note cards and references all in one place. Along with creating accurate citations and works cited pages, it can also help you organize your thoughts and sources, create useful note cards and in-depth outlines. Everyone at AUHSD can have their own NoodleTools account through our school Google account, allowing for easy retrieval, the ability to save and access projects and bibliographies over time, and privacy. Create your account today! If you already have an account, go to NoodleTools and click on the "Log in" button at the top right of the page.
How to sign into NoodleTools for the first time:
1) Go to the NoodleTools login webpage
2) Click on Google. Now type in your school gmail account (first.lastname##@auhsdschools.org).
The History of U.S. Money
In-text Citations
In-text Citations MLA
Databases
For database passwords please see Ms. Walfoort or email her.
The best database resources at LLHS for this particular assignment:
ABC-CLIO
Covers World Geography, Modern World History, American History, and Modern Genocides
Covers a vast array of people from significant figures to present-day newsmakers, alongside various articles, videos, podcasts, and images
Britannica
Complete encyclopedia includes primary sources and biographies
Gale eBooks
Online books covering all subject areas
Las Lomas Library Catalog
| Find: | ||||
|
|
|
|
|
| Advanced Search | ||||
LL Library Books
Silent Spring by
In 1962, Silent Spring alerted a large audience to the environmental and human dangers of indiscriminate use of pesticides, spurring revolutionary changes in the laws affecting our air, land, and water. "Silent Spring became a runaway bestseller, with international reverberations . . . [It is] well crafted, fearless and succinct . . . Even if she had not inspired a generation of activists, Carson would prevail as one of the greatest nature writers in American letters" (Peter Matthiessen, for Time's 100 Most Influential People of the Century). This fortieth anniversary edition celebrates Rachel Carson's watershed book with a new introduction by the author and activist Terry Tempest Williams and a new afterword by the acclaimed Rachel Carson biographer Linda Lear, who tells the story of Carson's courageous defense of her truths in the face of ruthless assault from the chemical industry in the year following the publication of Silent Spring and before her untimely death in 1964.
Call Number: 363.738 CARISBN: 0618249060Publication Date: 2022-02-01
The Book of Gutsy Women by
Hillary Rodham Clinton and her daughter, Chelsea, share the stories of the gutsy women who have inspired them--women with the courage to stand up to the status quo, ask hard questions, and get the job done. She couldn't have been more than seven or eight years old. "Go ahead, ask your question," her father urged, nudging her forward. She smiled shyly and said, "You're my hero. Who's yours?" Many people--especially girls--have asked us that same question over the years. It's one of our favorite topics. HILLARY: Growing up, I knew hardly any women who worked outside the home. So I looked to my mother, my teachers, and the pages of Life magazine for inspiration. After learning that Amelia Earhart kept a scrapbook with newspaper articles about successful women in male-dominated jobs, I started a scrapbook of my own. Long after I stopped clipping articles, I continued to seek out stories of women who seemed to be redefining what was possible. CHELSEA: This book is the continuation of a conversation the two of us have been having since I was little. For me, too, my mom was a hero; so were my grandmothers. My early teachers were also women. But I grew up in a world very different from theirs. My pediatrician was a woman, and so was the first mayor of Little Rock who I remember from my childhood. Most of my close friends' moms worked outside the home as nurses, doctors, teachers, professors, and in business. And women were going into space and breaking records here on Earth. Ensuring the rights and opportunities of women and girls remains a big piece of the unfinished business of the twenty-first century. While there's a lot of work to do, we know that throughout history and around the globe women have overcome the toughest resistance imaginable to win victories that have made progress possible for all of us. That is the achievement of each of the women in this book. So how did they do it? The answers are as unique as the women themselves. Civil rights activist Dorothy Height, LGBTQ trailblazer Edie Windsor, and swimmer Diana Nyad kept pushing forward, no matter what. Writers like Rachel Carson and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie named something no one had dared talk about before. Historian Mary Beard used wit to open doors that were once closed, and Wangari Maathai, who sparked a movement to plant trees, understood the power of role modeling. Harriet Tubman and Malala Yousafzai looked fear in the face and persevered. Nearly every single one of these women was fiercely optimistic--they had faith that their actions could make a difference. And they were right. To us, they are all gutsy women--leaders with the courage to stand up to the status quo, ask hard questions, and get the job done. So in the moments when the long haul seems awfully long, we hope you will draw strength from these stories. We do. Because if history shows one thing, it's that the world needs gutsy women.
Call Number: 920.72 CLIISBN: 9781501178412Publication Date: 2019-10-01
What I Had Was Singing by
These insightful biographies highlight men and women who have struggled to overcome adversity to accomplish their goals. Along the way, these inspiring people have blazed a trail through history.
Call Number: 921 ANDERSONISBN: 0876148186Publication Date: 1994-10-01
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights by
Perfect for Women's History Month, here is the story of the extraordinary Alice Paul a leader in the long struggle for votes for women. Alice Paul made a significant impact on both the woman's suffrage movement--the long struggle for votes for women--to the "second wave," when women demanded full equality with men. After women won the vote in 1920, Paul wrote the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), which would make all the laws that discriminated against women unconstitutional. Passage of the ERA became the rallying cry of a new movement of young women in the 1960s and '70s. Paul saw another chance to advance women's rights when the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964 began moving through Congress. She set in motion the "sex amendment," which remains a crucial legal tool for helping women fight discrimination in the workplace. A true "girl power" book for today's young women, the title includes archival images, an author's note, a bibliography, and source notes.
Call Number: 324.6 KOPISBN: 9781629793238Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Fight in the Fields by
Examines the fight of the United Farm Workers Union.
Call Number: 331.6 FERISBN: 0151002398Publication Date: 1997-04-15
