Photographs from Ellis Island
A Slovak woman with her children, 1906
NYPL Sherman, Augustus F. (Augustus Francis) — Photographer. [ca. 1906-1914]
Sherman, Augustus F. (Augustus Francis) — Photographer. [1911]
A woman from Guadeloupe, Caribbean. 1911
Sherman, Augustus F. (Augustus Francis) — Photographer. [1911]
Dutch brother and sister. Courtesy from the New York Public Library.
Girl from the Kochersberg region near Strasbourg, Alsace, France.
NYPL, Sherman, Augustus F. (Augustus Francis) — Photographer. [ca. 1906]
A shepherd from Romania, 1906
Sherman, Augustus F. (Augustus Francis) — Photographer. [ca. 1906]
Romani people from Serbia, 1906.
Sherman, Augustus F. — Photographer. [ca. 1906]
Russian Cossacks, 1906
NYPL, Sherman, Augustus F. (Augustus Francis) — Photographer. [ca. 1906]
An Indian boy named Thumbu Sammy, aged 17, who came to America on the SS Adriatic, April 14, 1911.
An Italian woman, her name and former home unknown, 1906.
Sherman, Augustus F. (Augustus Francis) — Photographer. [ca. 1906]
Wilhelm Schleich, a miner from Hohenpeissenberg, Bavaria
NYPL
A gentleman from Algeria.
NYPL
Sami woman from Finland.
NYPL — Augustus F. Sherman: Ellis Island Portraits 1905
Questions from the Guided Research Worksheet
- When did the immigrant group leave their home country?
- Why did the group leave their home country? (“Push” factors)
- Why did the group come to the United States? (“Pull” factors)
- How was the group received in the United States?
- How did the group adapt to life in the United States?
- What challenges do people in your assigned group continue to face in the United States?
- Has the U.S. government fulfilled its obligations to provide liberty and equality for your group in the U.S. today?
- What are some key events in the history of this Case Study group? (Find at least 10 events)
Key Primary Source Documents
- 1790 - Naturalization Act Primary document Records of the U.S. Senate, National Archives and Records Administration "This 1790 act set the new nation’s naturalization procedures. It limited access to U.S. citizenship to white immigrants—in effect, to people from Western Europe—who had resided in the U.S. at least two years and their children under 21 years of age. It also granted citizenship to children born abroad to U.S. citizens."
- 1848 - The Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo Provided by The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. "The Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, that brought an official end to the Mexican-American War (1846-1848), was signed on February 2, 1848, at Guadalupe Hidalgo, a city north of the capital where the Mexican government had fled with the advance of U.S. forces. By its terms, Mexico ceded 55 percent of its territory, including parts of present-day Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas, Colorado, Nevada, and Utah, to the United States. Mexico relinquished all claims to Texas, and recognized the Rio Grande as the southern boundary with the United States."
- The Homestead Act of 1862 Provided by The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration "President Abraham Lincoln signed the Homestead Act on May 20, 1862. On January 1, 1863, Daniel Freeman made the first claim under the Act, which gave citizens or future citizens up to 160 acres of public land provided they live on it, improve it, and pay a small registration fee. The Government granted more than 270 million acres of land while the law was in effect."
- 1882 - Chinese Exclusion Act Provided by DocsTeach - a product of the National Archives education division. This act provided a moratorium on Chinese labor immigration.
- Chinese Exclusion Act: Primary Documents in American History Provided by the Library of Congress "On May 6, 1882, the Chinese Exclusion Act was signed into law, prohibiting the immigration of Chinese laborers for ten years. This guide compiles Library of Congress digital materials, external websites, and a print bibliography."
- 1907 - Gentlemen's Agreement Provide by Immigration History: A project of the Immigration and Ethnic History Society "Rather than enacting racially discriminatory and offensive immigration laws, President Theodore Roosevelt sought to avoid offending the rising world power of Japan through this negotiated agreement by which the Japanese government limited the immigration of its own citizens."
- Documents connected to the Gentlemen's Agreement Provided by Hanover Historical Texts Project Hanover College Department of History. President Theodore Roosevelt letter tom Victor Metcalf, Secretary of Commerce and Labor (1906)
- 1921- Emergency Quota Act Provide by the Library of Congress. This act drastically reduces the number of immigrants from eastern and southern Europe allowed to enter the U.S.
- 1924 - Immigration Act Link provided by the Library of Congress "The Immigration Act of 1924 limited the number of immigrants allowed entry into the United States through a national origins quota. The quota provided immigration visas to two percent of the total number of people of each nationality in the United States as of the 1890 national census. It completely excluded immigrants from Asia." - Office of the Historian, Foreign Service Institute United States Department of State
- 1942 - Bracero Program started - photographs Provided by the Digital Public Library of America. "Beginning in World War II, the Bracero Program brought Mexican laborers to the United States to remedy wartime production shortages."
- Immigration and Nationality Act Documents presented by the Association of Centers for the Study of Congress. Repeals long-standing ethnic quota system and gives priority to family reunification.
- Refugee Act of 1980 "In the aftermath of the Vietnam War, the need for a change in American policy concerning refugees became apparent as hundreds of thousands of Vietnamese and Cambodians fled political chaos and physical danger in their homelands."
- 1990 - Immigration Act Amends the Immigration and Nationality Act (the Act) to set a permanent annual worldwide level of immigration, to begin in FY 1995, with a transition level for FY 1992 through 1994. Sets forth formulas to divide such worldwide level into worldwide levels for the following categories: (1) family-related immigrants; (2) employment-based immigrants; and (3) diversity immigrants. Excludes from such direct numerical limitations specified categories of special immigrants or aliens, including refugees."
- Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996 Increases penalties for undocumented immigration and mandates detention and deportation in a wide rant of cases.
- Dept. Homeland Security Internal DACA Memorandum Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals] - 2012 Provided by Ave Maria Law Library "This memorandum was what set forth the prosecutorial discretion that U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP), U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), and U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) offer to those individuals who came to America as children and consider it their only home."
U.S. Immigration Timeline - Overview
- Immigration History: Timeline (1790-2019) A project by the Immigration and History Project: A nonprofit organization
- World Events and Immigration Timeline (1790-2012) Sources: Harvard University Library Open Collections Program
- U.S. Immigration Policy, Past and Present The Choices Program by Brown University
- 23 Defining Moments in Immigration Policy History Includes political cartoons, photographs, and more. By ABC News Network
- U.S. Immigration Timeline A&E Television Networks
- Immigration and Relocation in U.S. History Global Timeline Complied by the Library of Congress
U.S. Immigration Since 1965
Immigrants at Ellis Island
Africa: Case Groups by Continent
Africa: Case Groups by Continent
Nigerian
- The Nigerian Diaspora in the United States by the Migration Policy Institute
- The Ogoni Refugees from Nigeria Travel with two Nigerian refugee families as they escape persecution and resettle in Chicago. By PBS
- Fast Facts about Nigeria and its Immigrants as U.S. Travel Ban Expands Published by the Pew Research Center
- Nigerians Shocked By Trump's New Immigration Restrictions By NPR. "Nigerians make up one of the largest groups of African immigrants in the U.S. Some are worried that family members who've applied for visas won't be able to come now because of new travel ban restrictions."
The Americas: Case Groups by Continent
The Americas: Case Groups by Continent
Mexican
- Mexican / Immigration and Relocation in U.S. History Complied by the Library of Congress
- The Violent History of the U.S.-Mexico Border from A&E Television Networks
- Bracero History Archive Bracero History Archive is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso. Funding provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities.
- The Bracero Program Information provided by UCLA Center for Labor Research and Education
- The Dream Act, DACA, and Other Policies Designed to Protect Dreamers By the American Immigration Council
Colombian
- Facts on Hispanics of Colombian origin in the United States, 2017 By the Pew Research Center
- The Colombian Diaspora in the United States - Migration Prepared by the Rockefeller Foundation - Aspen Institute Diaspora Program (RAD)
- Colombia: In the Crossfire Prepared by Migration Policy Institute
Asia:: Case Study Groups by Continent
Asia:: Case Study Groups by Continent
Chinese
- Becoming American: The Chinese Experience Timeline Complied by PBS
- Chinese / Immigration and Relocation in U.S. History Complied by the Library of Congress
- Chinese Immigration and the Chinese in the United States Prepared by The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
- People v. Hall (1854) Provided by Harvard Law School Caselaw Access Project. "The People of the State of California v. George W. Hall or People v. Hall, 4 Cal. 399, was an appealed murder case in the 1850s in which the California Supreme Court established that Chinese Americans and Chinese immigrants had no rights to testify against white citizens."
- Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882 From A&E Television Networks
- Angel Island Immigration Station The station processed and detained Chinese immigrants whose entry was restricted by the Chinese Exclusion Law of 1882.
Japanese
- Japanese / Immigration and Relocation in U.S. History Complied by the Library of Congress
- Ozawa v. United States (1922) A project of the Immigration and Ethnic History Society The University of Texas at Austin
- Executive Order 9066: Resulting in the Relocation of Japanese Executive Order 9066, February 19, 1942; General Records of the United States Government; Record Group 11; National Archives
- Japanese-American Internment During World War II From the The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
Indian
- Thind v. United States A project of the Immigration and Ethnic History Society The University of Texas at Austin
- United States v. Bhagat Singh Thind 261 U.S. 204 (1923) Provided by PBS
- Indian Immigrants in the United States in 2015 From the Migration Policy Institute
- Indians in the U.S. Fact Sheet Provided by the Pew Research Center
- Punjabi Migration to United States By Jasbir Singh Kang, MD
- Pioneer Sikh Migration to North America by Margaret Hill, California 3Rs Project
- Sikhs in America: A History of Hate "Demonized as immigrants. Mistaken for Muslims. For more than a century, Sikhs in the U.S. have faced suspicion and violence." by A.C. Thompson, ProPublica
Europe: Case Study Groups by Continent
Europe: Case Study Groups by Continent
- Ellis Island Produced by A&E Television Networks
Irish
- Irish / Immigration and Relocation in U.S. History Complied by the Library of Congress
- Historical Context: Irish Immigrants in the 19th Century Prepared by Re-imagining Migration
- When America Despised the Irish: The 19th Century’s Refugee Crisis Prepared by A&E Television Networks
- The Irish in America: Long Journey Home: The Great Hunger Video by Public Broadcasting Service
Italian
- Italian / Immigration and Relocation in U.S. History Complied by the Library of Congress
- Italian Americans in California Bancroft Library. The Regents of the University of California.
- History of Italian Immigration Webpage contains a table showing dates and numbers of Italian immigrants.
- The Italian Americans - Documentary Documentary by PBS America. "Written and produced by John Maggio and narrated by Academy Award-nominated actor Stanley Tucci, this ambitious four-part series examines the Italian experience in America, and its lasting legacy."
Eastern European Jewish
- Timeline in American Jewish History From American Jewish Archives
- From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America Timeline complied by the Library of Congress
- Jewish Immigration to the United States Prepared by the Holocaust Center
- The Jewish Journey: America - Documentary Documentary by PBS. Trace Jewish immigration to the U.S. through the centuries with history and personal stories.
The Chinese Exclusion Act
Databases and Website
For database passwords please see Ms. Walfoort or email her.
The best database resources at LLHS for this particular assignment:
Click here for a helpful demonstration on how to use ProQuest.
Website:
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
When you click on log in, you will need to register.
Las Lomas Library Catalog
| Find: | ||||
|
|
|
|
|
| Advanced Search | ||||
LIBRARY BOOKS -Immigration
LL Library books (including the examples below) are available even during the pandemic. Just email Ms. Walfoort (llhslibrarian@auhsdschools.org) to let her know which titles you'd like. She will then notify you to pick up the books in the attendance office.
Dreamers by
Dreamers is a movement book for the generation brought to the United States as children-and now fighting to live here legally Of the approximately twelve million undocumented immigrants living in the United States, as many as two million came as children. They grow up here, going to elementary, middle, and high school, and then the country they call home won't-in most states-offer financial aid for college and they're unable to be legally employed. In 2001, US senator Dick Durbin introduced the DREAM Act to Congress, an initiative that would allow these young people to become legal residents if they met certain requirements. And now, more than ten years later, in the face of congressional inertia and furious opposition from some, the DREAM Act has yet to be passed. But recently, this young generation has begun organizing, and with their rallying cry "Undocumented, Unapologetic, and Unafraid" they are the newest face of the human rights movement. In Dreamers, Eileen Truax illuminates the stories of these men and women who are living proof of a complex and sometimes hidden political reality that calls into question what it truly means to be American.
Call Number: 940.2 PHIISBN: 9780807030332Publication Date: 2015-03-10
A Different Mirror by
Ronald Takaki's beloved classic is a "brilliant revisionist history of America" (Publishers Weekly) that dramatically retells our nation's story from the perspective of minorities. Upon its first publication, A Different Mirror was hailed by critics and academics everywhere as a dramatic new retelling of our nation's past. Beginning with the colonization of the New World, it recounted the history of America in the voice of the non-Anglo peoples of the United States--Native Americans, African Americans, Jews, Irish Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and others--groups who helped create this country's rich mosaic culture. Now, Ronald Takaki has revised his landmark work and made it even more relevant and important. Among the new additions to the book are: The role of black soldiers in preserving the Union The history of Chinese Americans from 1900-1941 An investigation into the hot-button issue of "illegal" immigrants from Mexico A look at the sudden visibility of Muslim refugees from Afghanistan. This new edition of A Different Mirror is a remarkable achievement that grapples with the raw truth of American history and examines the ultimate question of what it means to be an American.
ISBN: 9780316022361Publication Date: 2008-12-08
Coming to America (Second Edition) by
One of our generation's best historical accounts of immigration in the United States from the earliest colonial days "Encyclopedic in scope, yet lively and provocative.... One of those rare book that will serve experts and the general public equally well." - San Francisco Chronicle Former professor Roger Daniels does his utmost to capture the history of immigration to America as accurately as possible in this definitive account of one of the most pressing and layered social issues of our time. With chapters that include statistics, maps, and charts to help us visualize the change taking place in the age of globalization, this is a fascinating read for both the student studying immigration patterns and the general reader who wishes to be more well-informed from a quantitative perspective. Daniels places more recent cases of migration in the Americas within the rich history of the continents pre-colonialism. This invaluable resource is filled with maps and charts designed to help the reader see patterns that surface when studying the movement of peoples over time.
ISBN: 9780060505776Publication Date: 2002-10-22
Stranger by
"There are times when I feel like a stranger in this country. I am not complaining and it's not for lack of opportunity. But it is something of a disappointment. I never would have imagined that after having spent thirty five years in the United States I would still be a stranger to so many. But that's how it is". Jorge Ramos, an Emmy award-winning journalist, Univision's longtime anchorman and widely considered the "voice of the voiceless" within the Latino community, was forcefully removed from an Iowa press conference in 2015 by then-candidate Donald Trump after trying to ask about his plans on immigration. In this personal manifesto, Ramos sets out to examine what it means to be a Latino immigrant, or just an immigrant, in present-day America. Using current research and statistics, with a journalist's nose for a story, and interweaving his own personal experience, Ramos shows us the changing face of America while also trying to find an explanation for why he, and millions of others, still feel like strangers in this country. "It is precisely this pattern of confrontation... that has won Ramos the trust of so many Hispanics. They know that in many countries south of the United States, direct questions can provoke not simply a loss of access but also a loss of life." --Marcela Valdes, The New York Times
ISBN: 0525563792Publication Date: 2018-02-27
The Making of Asian America by
A "comprehensive...fascinating" (The New York Times Book Review) history of Asian Americans and their role in American life, by one of the nation's preeminent scholars on the subject. In the past fifty years, Asian Americans have helped change the face of America and are now the fastest growing group in the United States. But much of their long history has been forgotten. "In her sweeping, powerful new book, Erika Lee considers the rich, complicated, and sometimes invisible histories of Asians in the United States" (Huffington Post). The Making of Asian America shows how generations of Asian immigrants and their American-born descendants have made and remade Asian American life, from sailors who came on the first trans-Pacific ships in the 1500 to the Japanese Americans incarcerated during World War II. Over the past fifty years, a new Asian America has emerged out of community activism and the arrival of new immigrants and refugees. No longer a "despised minority," Asian Americans are now held up as America's "model minorities" in ways that reveal the complicated role that race still plays in the United States. Published fifty years after the passage of the United States' Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965, these "powerful Asian American stories...are inspiring, and Lee herself does them justice in a book that is long overdue" (Los Angeles Times). But more than that, The Making of Asian America is an "epic and eye-opening" (Minneapolis Star-Tribune) new way of understanding America itself, its complicated histories of race and immigration, and its place in the world today.
ISBN: 9781476739410Publication Date: 2016-08-16
Immigration and Travel Restrictions by
Restrictions on immigration and visitation have been in place for decades in the name of security and public health, but recently they have become a point of contention, particularly in the United States and many European nations. As terrorist attacks have proliferated around the world, security restrictions have tightened, resulting in an outcry that travel bans are discriminatory and racist. Is it better to be safe than sorry? Are travel bans such as Executive Order 13769 more about politics than security? A wide array of authoritative voices offers their perspectives on this timely and far-reaching debate.
ISBN: 9781534504233Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Open Borders by
American policy-makers have long been locked in a heated battle over whether, how many, and what kind of immigrants to allow to live and work in the country. Those in favor of welcoming more immigrants often cite humanitarian reasons, while those in favor of more restrictive laws argue the need to protect native citizens. But economist Bryan Caplan adds a new, compelling perspective to the immigration debate: He argues that opening all borders could eliminate absolute poverty worldwide and usher in a booming worldwide economy--greatly benefiting humanity. With a clear and conversational tone, exhaustive research, and vibrant illustrations by Zach Weinersmith, Open Borders makes the case for unrestricted immigration easy to follow and hard to deny.
ISBN: 9781250316974Publication Date: 2019-10-29
This Land Is Our Land by
A 2017 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction finalist! American attitudes toward immigrants are paradoxical. On the one hand, we see our country as a haven for the poor and oppressed; anyone, no matter his or her background, can find freedom here and achieve the "American Dream." On the other hand, depending on prevailing economic conditions, fluctuating feelings about race and ethnicity, and fear of foreign political and labor agitation, we set boundaries and restrictions on who may come to this country and whether they may stay as citizens. This book explores the way government policy and popular responses to immigrant groups evolved throughout U.S. history, particularly between 1800 and 1965. The book concludes with a summary of events up to contemporary times, as immigration again becomes a hot-button issue. Includes an author's note, bibliography, and index.
ISBN: 9781419716607Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Life on Ellis Island by
More than 12 million immigrants were processed through Ellis Island immigration station in New York Harbor, which operated as a small dry contained within itself. The immigrant's experiences of heartache, disappointment, and triumph are an indelible part of our nation's history.
ISBN: 1560065338Publication Date: 1999-09-01
