LibGuides: Spanish/Latin Holidays: Home

DATABASES

ABC-CLIO - World Geography

The world geography database of this collection. Upon going to link, it may ask you to log in. Once logged in, you will be taken to a search field where you can search for your country. In country, click on "Society & Culture" on left, then "Food & Holidays".

ProQuest CultureGrams
Link should open on CultureGrams World Edition. Enter in country name to search bar. (when not on campus you will be asked to login with our username and password. This info is on the database page, in the ProQuest description. Popups must be allowed on your device for ProQuest to work properly).

The databases above are the most useful for this specific project. For our other databases, visit the library online databases. Need passwords? Email the library.

VIDEO: INTI RAYMI (PERU)

Video: What is a Quinceanera?

Video: Tomatina Festival!

Quinceanera (Mexico & US)

Inti Raymi - Festival of the Sun (Peru)

Oruro Carneval (Bolivia)

Las Posadas (Mexico)

San Fermin Festival (Spain)

Todos Santos (Guatemala)

Virgin of Guadelupe (Mexico)

Tomatina Festival (Spain)

Dia de los Muertos (Mexico)

SPANISH-SPEAKING HOLIDAY WEBSITES

Try these websites for useful information on major holidays of Spanish-speaking countries.

Major Holidays & Celebrations of the Spanish-Speaking World This site is designed to reflect the major holidays and celebrations of the Spanish-speaking countries. The celebrations of holidays are rich with meaning and diversity. Latin American countries which have been significantly influenced by Catholicism have many holidays to celebrate their patron saints.
Worldwide Holidays & Celebrations Listing by country of a number of celebrations.
Holidays & Observances Around the World Exhaustive listing of all the holidays and observances of countries of the world. Find your Spanish-speaking country and its festivals and holidays here.
Spanish Festivals & Traditions Site covering several different Spanish festivals, including Feria de Abril, Semana Santa, & La Tomatina, among others.
Listing of Major Festivals in Mexico Lists all major festivals chronologically through the calendar year, many with links to further information about a specific festival.
Christmas in Mexico Various nativity activities and events that occur in Mexico are detailed at this site.
Una Boda Mexicana Information and facts about Mexican weddings and courting rituals.
La Quincenera (Mexico) In Mexico,the transition to adulthood for girls is marked with the celebration of the Quinceañera, or 15th Birthday.
The Virgin of Guadalupe Tells the story of the Virgin of Guadalupe that the festival in Mexico is named for.
Dia de los Muertos/Day of the Dead (Mexico)
Day of the Dead/All Saints Day - Make Sugar Skulls Detailed site with history and facts about Mexico's Day of the Dead celebration and how to make sugar skulls
Todos Santos (Guatemala) All Saints Day, November 1st, as celebrated in Guatemala.
San Fermin (Running of the Bulls - Pamplona, Spain) Information about the running of the bulls festival and its other highlights. This event takes place annually in Pamplona, Spain.
Semana Santa (primarily Spain) Semana Santa, or Holy Week, is elaborately celebrated each year in Spain, as well as in other Spanish-speaking countries. This is the week preceding Easter Sunday or Pascua.
Inti Raymi - Celebration of the Sun (Peru) Inti Raymi is the celebration of the God Sun, the most venerated god in Inca religion. Every year on June 24th the festival of the Inti Raymi takes place in the city of Cusco.
La Tomatina Festival (Valencia, Spain)
The Oruro Carneval (Bolivia) The Carnival of Oruro, Bolivia, justly ranks among the most famous pre-Lenten celebrations of the world. Oruro is a small city in northern Bolivia, formerly a base of the Uru-Uru tribe.

VIDEO: RUNNING OF THE BULLS (PAMPLONA, SPAIN)

Video: Our Lady of Guadalupe Celebration (Mexico)

LIBRARY BOOKS

Holidays, Festivals and Celebrating of the World Dictionary by Sue Ellen Thompson (Editor) This new edition contains up-to-date information on more than 2,000 holidays and festivals worldwide, as well as the more obscure celebrations and observances. Emphasis is placed on events that are still current, but a number of ancient and discontinued events are included because they are referred to in art and literature. Most entries have national or wide regional significance, but also included are offbeat, colorful, local, and lesser-known events. Over 500 new entries appear in the second edition. In addition, most entries now have contact information, sources, or both.
Publication Date: 1997
Festivals & Holidays by Macmillan Library Reference Staff The Macmillan Profiles series is a collection of volumes featuring profiles of famous people, places and historical events. This text presents about 110 articles describing the important holidays of the world's major religions, American and international secular holidays, and interesting local festivals from around the world. It features descriptions of Kwaanza, Carnival, Hanukkah, Easter, Vesak, Mohammed's Birthday, Divali, the Dragon Boat Festival, Bastille Day, United Nations Day, Earth Day and Potlatch.
Publication Date: 2001