DATABASES
The databases below are the most useful for this specific project. For our other databases, visit the library online databases. Remember - You'll need to login first to get to the articles. Need passwords? Email the library.
- ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Search interface for all 5 ABC-CLIO databases: American Gov't., Ancient World History, Modern World History, American History, World at War.
Choose the database "World at War". Search using the specific battle name (for example: "D-Day"). You will want results that indicate the item is a reference article.
OR....
Click on the following links to access articles in ABC-CLIO for iinformation on each battle :
1. D-Day (Normandy Invasion)
2. Battle of Britain ("The Blitz")
3. Dunkirk (& 1940 campaign for France)
4. Stalingrad
5. Midway
6. Pearl Harbor
7. Leyte Gulf
DATABASE SEARCH TIPS
- Top 10 Search Tips from Berkeley City College Search tips on advanced searching, using limiters, Boolean operators, and many other techniques to make your database search more productive.
Google Books
USEFUL WEBSITES: BATTLES OF WORLD WAR II
USEFUL GOOGLE BOOKS (ONLINE)
WEBSITES TO SUPPORT FOCUS QUESTIONS
CONTRA COSTA COUNTY LIBRARY SEARCH
- Contra Costa County Library Search
Use your CCC library card to find and reserve a book. Have it sent to the county library branch nearest you. Items usually arrive within 2-3 days of placing the hold.
GOOGLE SCHOLAR SEARCH
Battles of World War II
Soldiers rush the beaches during the Invasion of Normandy (D-Day) in France, June 1944. [National Archives and Records Administration]
LIBRARY CATALOG
| Find: | ||||
|
|
|
|
|
| Advanced Search | ||||
TOPICAL LIBRARY BOOKS
- A Military History of the Western World byCall Number: 355.03 FULPublication Date: 1956
- The Battles that Changed History byCall Number: 904 PRAPublication Date: 1956
D-Day - June 6, 1944 by Call Number: 940.54 AMBPublication Date: 1994
The Attack on Pearl Harbor by Call Number: 940.54 DAVPublication Date: 2009
Shattered Sword by Call Number: 940.54 PARPublication Date: 2005
The Battle of BritainCall Number: 940.53 TIMPublication Date: 1977
The Battle of Leyte Gulf by Call Number: 940.54 CUTPublication Date: 1994
Dunkirk by Call Number: 940.54 SEBPublication Date: 2006
Decisive Battles of the U. S. A. by Call Number: 973 FULPublication Date: 1993
