Books
Many books are on reserve in the library.
Need help finding something?
Just Ask!
You can find information in books:
- specifically about Romanticism
- more general works on Literature, Art, Music or History
- or entirely by or about the individual you're studying
Below are some examples.
The Age of Romanticism by Call Number: 709.03 SCHISBN: 9780313317644Publication Date: 2007-05-01Provides an overview of the political, social, and intellectual environment in which Romanticism emerged, introduces some of the poets of the age, identifies representative genres of prose and drama and their authors, looks at Romantic styles in art and music, and discusses the legacy of Romanticism. Includes biographical sketches, documents, and a selected bibliography.
European Romanticism by Call Number: 820.9 BREISBN: 9780312450236Publication Date: 2007-07-09Draws on primary and secondary source documents to trace the history and influence of Romanticism on European art, architecture, religion, literature, music, and culture.
William Wordsworth by Call Number: 821 WORISBN: 0791073858Publication Date: 2003-05-01This book includes a biography of William Wordsworth's life and a selection of significant critical essays on his literary works.
The NPR Curious Listener's Guide to Classical Music by Call Number: 781.6 SMIISBN: 9780399527951Publication Date: 2002-08-06Presents a concise history of classical music, biographical sketches of major composers and performers, descriptions of key works, discussion of styles, a glossary of terms, and an annotated list of fifty essential classical music CDs.- European Artists byISBN: 0028655001Publication Date: 1905-06-01Includes biographical entries on Delacroix and Friedrich.
Library Databases
EMAIL or see Library Staff for Passwords.
- ABC - CLIO - World History: The Modern EraIncludes reference articles, biographies, primary sources, images and glossary terms from the Renaissance to today.
- GALE: World History in ContextIncludes encyclopedia, academic, news and magazine articles as well as images and primary sources and biographies going back 5,000 years covering cultures and societies across all continents and eras.
- World Book OnlineEncyclopedia entries. This is a trial subscription - ask in the library for passwords.
- Classroom Video on DemandStreaming videos from educational programs spanning the core subject areas: Science and Mathematics; Social Studies; Literature and Language Arts; Health and Nutrition; Business and Economics; Visual and Performing Arts.
Videos
John Green's Crash Course in Literature: Frankenstein, Part 1 of 2. Covers the Romantic movement in English Lit, plot review and critical readings of the novel.
Videos
Part 2 of 2
Websites: Literature / Philosophy
- Norton Anthology of English Literature: Romantic PeriodOverview article on the Romantic Period, plus texts, illustrations, primary source materials and extended resources.
- British Library: Romantics and VictoriansAuthor biographies, interpretive articles, images and primary sources.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyArticle on William Godwin.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhiloshophyArticle on Mary Wollstonecraft.
Websites: Art
- Metropolitan Museum of Art: Romantic PeriodOverview article with links to information on individual artists and works.
- Smarthistory: Romanticism in FranceVideo and article on Delacroix's Liberty Leads the People.
- LouvreArticle and images of Delacroix's Liberty Leads the People from the museum collection.
- Smarthistory: Romanticism in GermanyVideos and articles focusing on works by. Caspar David Friedrich
Websites: Music
- KQED Keeping ScoreKQED Episode and companion website focusing on Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique.
- Library of Congress: Performing Arts EncyclopediaBiography of Franz Liszt.
- Classical ArchivesAlphabetical listing of composers with bios and sample recordings.