Databases
- ABC-CLIO: American History This link opens in a new window
From the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution. - ABC-CLIO: Issues This link opens in a new window
This database helps students develop an in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on today's most important issues. - Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly, explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. - GALE: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts, covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. - GALE: US History This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.
eBooks
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0787663670Publication Date: 2004-08-27This 12-volume set provides information on more than 5,000 legal topics in American law. It includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Legal issues are fully discussed, including such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and thousands more.
American Era's by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780787614775Publication Date: 1997-03-01American Eras is a fascinating, student-friendly reference that's patterned after Thomson Gale's award-winning American Decades series. Like its predecessor, America Eras offers insightful essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to U.S. history, but reviews them in a broader scope of time. Volumes cover the events, lifestyles, social history and key figures unique to each era.
Primary Documents by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780787665876Publication Date: 2003-12-05Each volume covers a decade in American history amplifying and illuminating the decade with first-hand accounts and other primary source documentation. Each volume includes approximately 165 full-text or excerpted historical documents from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade. These documents include advertisements, commercials, diaries, literary works, newspaper articles, memoirs, periodical articles, speeches and other types of primary source materials.
Websites: Supreme Court
- Supreme Court WebsiteOfficial site of the court.
- CSPAN: Landmark CasesHighlights 12 of the most significant and frequently cited decisions in the Supreme Court’s history.
- Bill of Rights Institute: Landmark Supreme Court CasesCase summaries organized by category.
- United States CourtsGeneral information about the court and judicial procedures and landmark cases.
- Legal Information InstituteHistoric Supreme Court decisions by topic.
- Landmark Cases of the U.S. Supreme CourtWebsite for teaching Supreme Court Cases from Street Law, Inc. and the Supreme Court Historical Society.
- PBS: The Supreme Court, Landmark CasesCompanion website to the PBS series on the history of the Supreme Court.
- Oyez - IIT Chicago-Kent College of LawA multimedia archive and source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
- Our Documents100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration chronicling United States history from 1776 to 1965. Includes Marbury v Madison; Gibbons v Ogden
Some other Links to help choose a case to research: