Databases and Resources for this project
RESEARCH TOOLS
Students - sign in with google and create a project for this assignment
See THIS TUTORIAL for help with NoodleTools, if you need it - Thanks, Ms. McFerrin!
DATABASES-some are password protected-email nmoore@auhsdschools.org
Gale in Context: Biography-Use for Source One
Covers a vast array of people from significant figures to present-day newsmakers, alongside various articles, videos, podcasts, and images
Bloom's Literature - Use for Source Two
A comprehensive resource for the study of literature. Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom, this database includes thousands of critical essays; author biographies, interviews, and profiles; character analyses
Gale Literature Resource Center -Use for Source Two or Three
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Britannica-Use for General Informaition
Complete encyclopedia includes primary sources and biographies
Youth Poet Laureate Amanda Gorman - Fury and Faith Poem
Goals for the Project
The goal of this assignment is to:
1. Learn about a new poet and the type of poetry they write
2. Make a citation for each source in NoodleTools and import into your document
3. Practice using a formal, research driven tone when writing
Meet a Few of the Poets
Amanda Gorman
Nikki GiovanniWEBSITES
Try these websites for useful information in connection to FORM, STYLE and CONTENT.
Poetry Books
The Hill We Climb by
On January 20, 2021, Amanda Gorman became the sixth and youngest poet to deliver a poetry reading at a presidential inauguration. Taking the stage after the 46th president of the United States, Joe Biden, Gorman captivated the nation and brought hope to viewers around the globe with her call for unity and healing. Her poem "The Hill We Climb: An Inaugural Poem for the Country" can now be cherished in this special gift edition, perfect for any reader looking for some inspiration. Including an enduring foreword by Oprah Winfrey, this remarkable keepsake celebrates the promise of America and affirms the power of poetry.
Call Number: 811.6 GORISBN: 9780593465271Publication Date: 2021-03-30
Dearly by
A new book of poetry from internationally acclaimed, award-winning and bestselling author Margaret Atwood Dearly, Margaret Atwood's first collection of poetry in over a decade, Atwood addresses themes such as love, loss, the passage of time, the nature of nature and - zombies. Her new poetry is introspective and personal in tone, but wide-ranging in topic. In poem after poem, she casts her unique imagination and unyielding, observant eye over the landscape of a life carefully and intuitively lived. While many are familiar with Margaret Atwood's fiction--including her groundbreaking and bestselling novelsThe Handmaid's Tale;The Testaments,;Oryx and Crake, among others--she has, from the beginning of her career, been one of our most significant contemporary poets. And she is one of the very few writers equally accomplished in fiction and poetry.This collection is a stunning achievement that will be appreciated by fans of her novels and poetry readers alike.
Call Number: 811.54 ATWISBN: 9780063032491Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Annotated Bibliography-Poets
Creating an Annotated Bibliography using NoodleTools
WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?
- An Annotated Bibliography is an organized list of sources -like a Works Cited page
- Each source is followed by a brief note or “annotation”
- Annotations are short paragraphs - five to seven sentences-that are written right below the source citation
- Your paragraphs are about your poet and his/her/their works. Content
-
SOURCE 1/paragraph one: Biographical information – Where are they from/what region do they live? How does the background influence who they are as a poet?
-
SOURCE 2/paragraph two: Form of the poetry typically written by the poet – What TYPE of poetry do they write?
-
SOURCE 3/paragraph three: Style and content of the poetry written by the poet – HOW do they write (word choice, punctuation, grammatical choices) and WHAT do they write about?
Using NoodleTools for your Annotated Bibliography
USING NOODLETOOLS FOR ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY
Click into each source in your project and scroll down to the annotation box. Write the paragraph below for EACH SOURCE and save it. When you are finished, export all sources to google docs.
See THIS TUTORIAL for help - Thanks, Ms. McFerrin!
LINK to Annotated Bibliography Handout-Lenet