LibGuides: English 1: World Lit Final Presentation: Main Guide

DATABASES - HISTORY & INDEPENDENCE

The databases below are the most useful for this specific project. For our other databases, visit the library online databases. Remember - You'll need to login first to get to the articles. Need passwords? Email the library.

ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
Search interface for all 5 ABC-CLIO databases: American Gov't., Ancient World History, Modern World History, American History, World at War.

Choose the database most suited for you topic (for example: "World History"). Search using the specific era or event (for example: "Industrial Revolution" or "Great Depression"). You will want results that indicate the item is a reference article.

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for the study of literature. Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom, this database includes thousands of critical essays; author biographies, interviews, and profiles; character analyses; the full text of hundreds of books from the reference collection and more than 1,000 classic works of literature; thousands of full-length poems; and an exclusive Shakespeare Center.
PROQUEST This link opens in a new window
PROQUEST PASSWORD HAS CHANGED! Username remains the same; new password is the same with 2! at the end. IMPORTANT: when using ProQuest at home: make sure pop-ups are allowed on your device. Contact librarian if you need help.

Country Studies Info about all countries
This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army.
To use it, find your country in the list and click on it

PRIMARY SOURCES

Do you need a primary source for your presentation/website? Use this link. It is another subject guide, entirely dedicated to primary sources for the topics and time periods covered in the World Literature Final Presentation. It also includes subject guides I have made for World History teachers, which could be useful as well.

WL FInal - PRIMARY SOURCES

Enlightenment | Scientific Revolution | Age of Reason

The Industrial Revolution

The Industrial Revolution & Its Impact on European Society

Imperialism | Colonialism | Mexican Revolution

World War I & Its Aftermath (Including Russian Revolution)

The Lost Generation | Great Depression | Rise of Totalitarianism & Communism

Fascism | Nazism | World War II & the Holocaust

GOOGLE SITES - EXAMPLE STUDENT WEBSITES

I. The Assignment: Here is a link to the assignment

II. 2023 World Lit Final Presentation: (Google Site)

This is where your group will link your site when it is finished. The link will be made live in May.

III. Rubric for Project

Use the rubric to guide you in building your site

IV. Useful Subject Guides from Past Projects

These subject guides were put together for earlier projects done this year in Mr. Honda's class

V. Sample Google Sites Websites from Previous Years:

Check out these sites made by students using Google Sites. The first three sites are from the website assignments this year and last year. The fourth one is a sample site made by Ms. Burkhalter. The final two sites are student-created ones from an authors project and the 2020 midterm election. The final one links to many Sites made by students during the election simulation project 3 years ago (I've changed the font color to pink to highlight some of the best-made Sites). Although the projects and tabs are different, the layout is similar and you might get ideas from these example sites.

Literature of Renaissance England

Election Simulation

AHS Election Simulation Subject Guide
Using the Election Simulation page that I put together for last November's 2022 Midterm Elections, will probably be the most useful source.

You are welcome to find and use other sources, but you should be able to find all you need on this subject guide.