LibGuides: English 1: World Lit Final Presentation: Main Guide

DATABASES - HISTORY & INDEPENDENCE

The databases below are the most useful for this specific project. For our other databases, visit the library online databases. Remember - You'll need to login first to get to the articles. Need passwords? Email the library.

ABC-CLIO
Search interface for all 5 ABC-CLIO databases: American Gov't., Ancient World History, Modern World History, American History, World at War.

Choose the database most suited for you topic (for example: "World History"). Search using the specific era or event (for example: "Industrial Revolution" or "Great Depression"). You will want results that indicate the item is a reference article.

Bloom's Literature
A comprehensive resource for the study of literature. Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom, this database includes thousands of critical essays; author biographies, interviews, and profiles; character analyses; the full text of hundreds of books from the reference collection and more than 1,000 classic works of literature; thousands of full-length poems; and an exclusive Shakespeare Center.
PROQUEST
PROQUEST PASSWORD HAS CHANGED! Username remains the same; new password is the same with 2! at the end. IMPORTANT: when using ProQuest at home: make sure pop-ups are allowed on your device. Contact librarian if you need help.

Country Studies Info about all countries
This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army.
To use it, find your country in the list and click on it

PRIMARY SOURCES

Do you need a primary source for your presentation/website? Use this link. It is another subject guide, entirely dedicated to primary sources for the topics and time periods covered in the World Literature Final Presentation. It also includes subject guides I have made for World History teachers, which could be useful as well.

WL FInal - PRIMARY SOURCES
Info on finding and using Primary Sources, including a subject guide on primary source evaluation AND several subject guides about World History topics

Click on the Google Slide Above to See How to Enter the PDF Info into NoodleTools

Here is how your Finished Citation Will Appear on your Works Cited Page:

Beck, Roger B. World History: Patterns of Interaction. E-book ed., McDougal Littell, 2005. PDF.

(If you are using a PDF from a different book than the old world history textbook, to get publisher info, search on the title in Amazon, or ask your World History teacher)

Enlightenment | Scientific Revolution | Age of Reason

The British Library: The Enlightenment
The Enlightenment
What Is the Enlightenment and How Did It Transform Politics?
Does the Enlightenment Still Shine in the 21st Century?
How the Enlightenment Gave Us Peace, Prosperity, and Progress
PRIMARY SOURCES:British History Online A catalog of online primary sources - chronicling many areas of life in England (gov't., social, census, church, etc)
Scientific Revolution
PRIMARY SOURCES: Scientific Revolution From Ohio State - very accessible PDFs of various primary source docs from the scientific revolution.

The Industrial Revolution

The Industrial Revolution & Its Impact on European Society

Imperialism | Colonialism | Mexican Revolution

World War I & Its Aftermath (Including Russian Revolution)

The Lost Generation | Great Depression | Rise of Totalitarianism & Communism

The Lost Generation - Common Lit Article A good basic article defining the Lost Generation and who was part of and why.

Fascism | Nazism | World War II & the Holocaust

GOOGLE SITES - EXAMPLE STUDENT WEBSITES

I. The Assignment: Here is a link to the assignment

II. Google Site Where You Link Your Site (please do this by May 15)

READ: Even if there is a group member who hasn't finished, link your site by the due date or your ENTIRE group will begin accumulating late points (1 point for every school day it is late).

III. Rubric for Project

Use the rubric to guide you in building your site

IV. Useful Subject Guides from Past Projects

These subject guides were put together for earlier projects done this year in Mr. Honda's class

Election Simulation Project Subject Guide
Maus & Book Bans/Challenges in 2024
Imperialism Subject Guide

V. Sample Google Sites Websites from Previous Years:

2023 World Lit Final Presentation: (Google Site)

Check out these sites made by students using Google Sites for their final website project. All topics chosen that year (2023) are linked within this site. Look at several Sites to get ideas for your project.