FIRST STEPS FOR SENIOR PROJECT RESEARCH USING NOODLETOOLS
STEP ONE: Make sure you are signed into NoodleTools through your auhdschools google account.
STEP TWO: Create a NEW PROJECT titled SENIOR PROJECT 2024. Select MLA 9 and Advanced for your preferences.
STEP THREE: Share with your teacher's inbox
STEP FOUR: Add to your database sources to this Project in the correct MLA format. Each database has a way to properly cite the information you find. The database will send the correct citation to your Senior Project folder.
STEP FIVE: Create your Notecards in NoodleTools according to your Teacher's requirements
Most of you should be familiar with NoodleTools by now. If you need more help or a further tutorial, please see Ms. Moore in the library or you can email her at nmoore@auhsdschools.org
Las Lomas Senior Project
Why does Las Lomas require a Senior Project?
In asking seniors to complete this three-step project, your teachers at Las Lomas have seven goals:
To provide students with an academic culmination of their high school careers.
To allow each student to discover and investigate a subject of genuine interest.
To provide an authentic assessment tool for students to demonstrate mastery of the integrated skills of thinking, listening, speaking, writing, reading, and calculating.
To promote self-esteem.
To encourage students to develop an academic self-reliance to continue education beyond high school.
To enhance senior class spirit by engaging students in a common academic challenge.
To improve the students’ education by increasing contact between the school and the community.
After doing a bit of light research on the internet using Wikipedia and Google, hopefully, you have a good idea of how to start research on your topic.
DO NOT visit AI for help on your senior project question.
Use databases for vetted an substantive sources to explore your Senior Project topic in depth. See your bookmark or email your librarian for the passwords for these databases. Happy Researching!!
Print vs. database research: Print Sources
A source counts as a “print source” if it has ever been on paper or is actually physically in your hand.
SOME of the database sources were in print, some were not. Check the NoodleTools tutorials for more info.
There are three different categories of information sources that students use to locate data for their research projects:
Primary sources: original raw data. Examples: the interviews you will conduct are your primary sources.
Secondary sources: your use and interpretation of some sort of research. Examples: books, journal articles, or scholarly papers.
Tertiary sources: more commonly known as reference sources, tertiary sources provide a general overview of a topic when starting research. Examples: encyclopedias, dictionaries, and even Wikipedia!
What’s in it for me?
For decades now, there has been a tradition of students completing senior projects at Las Lomas, and as so many of our graduates continue to report back to us, completing this project has not only made them feel proud of their accomplishments, it has also helped them to be successful after graduation. In other words, the valuable skills you will learn throughout this project are exactly the type of skills colleges and employers want from prospective students and employees. Your efforts throughout the year will be worth it in the end!
Creating an Annotated Bibliography
An annotated bibliography is an organized list of sources (like a Works Cited page). Each source is followed by a brief note or “annotation.” Annotations do the following in a short paragraph:
Summarize/Describe the content and focus of the book or article;
Evaluate/Analyze the source’s methods, conclusions, or reliability;
Reflect the source’s usefulness to your research.
Senior Project Posters-click here for a slideshow of posters. You'll have to log in with your auhsdschools account!
